You're on our mind during COVID-19. See our latest help & advice.

L
Newbie Bride November 2021 Dublin

Let down by my sisters

LAura, 5 November 2020 at 14:05 Posted on Just Married 0 2
Saved Save
Hi there! I’m new to all of this but I would really like some advice or help from anyone who’s been in a similar situation please 🙏

I was due to get married abroad but Covid messed that up and long story short I got married at my house! We are planning to have an almost wedding party abroad next year so we can wear the white dress and tuxedo and have that experience..so it’s not over yet! Who doesn’t love a good party eh!
Basically I am the youngest of my sisters and the first to be married so I asked them to be my bridesmaids (even though we are not that close). I thought it might bring us together.
Not once before the wedding did we all meet, every time one of them had an excuse. Once it was “oh I’m just going to go out (to the pub) instead”. I was incredibly hurt by this. I did spent hundreds on each of them in terms of gifts, dresses, bags accessories etc. and one of them said she didn’t even like the gift I got her! They didn’t help with one thing wedding related (my best friends did) and when the wedding got cancelled I had no support from them and yet again no help getting ready for this new wedding at home. My heart was broken.
When the day came...none of them even got us a gift, helped set up or they didn’t even welcome my husband to be. It was so awful.
Now we are going to start planning the wedding party and I don’t want them to be my bridesmaids anymore....what should I do 😭😭thank you so much 🙏

2 replies

Latest activity by HappyBlueCars582, 6 November 2020 at 09:32
  • H
    Rockstar Bride June 2020
    HappyBlueCars582 ·