Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

W
Beginner December 2012

3pm too late? December Civil ceremony

WinterBrideSoon, 13 August, 2012 at 13:44 Posted on Planning 0 5

Hi Everyone

Please help! My OH and I got engaged a few weeks ago and we decided we'd really like to get married in December 2012. Last minute I know but we don't want a big wedding (50 day guests).

We found two venues we really like that are available for Sat 29th or Sat 8th December, but the registrar can only do 3pm on each of these dates. I am a teacher and my OH is British-Chinese and will only get married on a 'lucky day' so we are having difficulty finding other dates where the venues are available.

Has anyone else got married at this time in December or are planning to? The latest I wanted to get married was at 2pm to allow some time for photos in the daylight. There is a lovely castle 5 minutes drive from the venue that I wanted some pics at, but we wouldn't be able to fit this in getting married at 3pm.

Many thanks x

5 replies

Latest activity by Chris Giles Photography, 13 August, 2012 at 20:42
  • hazyclaire
    Beginner November 2012
    hazyclaire ·
    • Hide content

My friend got married in December 2010 at 4pm, but they had all of their photos indoors anyway. As it happened it was a really foggy day so even had they got married earlier it wouldn't have been any good for outdoor photos. Could you choose a venue with somewhere lovely indoors for pics? This is what we have done for our November wedding. We're getting married at 12.30pm in the hope of getting some good light, but we needed a back up plan should the weather be terrible...

• K
    Beginner December 2012
    kingfisher1923 ·
    • Hide content

Congratulations! I have a similar dilemma. Marrying in Dec, want photos in the daylight, but if the ceremony is too early, it'll be too long a gap before the evening buffet (not having a sit down afternoon meal).