Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

S
Beginner June 2018

Age of bridesmaids

Sparkle24, 22 of April of 2017 at 19:13 Posted on Planning 0 7

Hi all!

im new to all this wedding planning! I had planned to have one friend, my fiances sister and my niece as bridesmaids. Only problem is that his sister will be 11 and my niece will be 8. Is this too young for bridesmaids? I've read that junior bridesmaids start from age 12-16 so now I'm thinking under the mat age and they can't be classed as bridesmaids? They are too old for flower girls though, in my opinion.

can I get people's opinions on this please? Smiley smile

thanks!

7 replies

Latest activity by Sparkle24, 28 of April of 2017 at 12:46
  • DreamsComeTrue2015
    Beginner July 2017
    DreamsComeTrue2015 ·
    • Hide content

I wouldn't worry too much about 'labelling' them yet. Take them to the dress shop and let them see their choices. They might gravitate towards the white flower girl dresses in which case they are flower girls. Or they might want to be grown up and wear the matching bridesmaid dresses.

But that's just me, I let our 6 year old pick her outfit so I'm a bit more relaxed about dresses haha!

• Wedding Photography By Bill Haddon
    Wedding Photography By Bill Haddon ·
    • Hide content

There are no rules about at what age you chose to call someone a bridesmaid other than at a certain age the label flower girl may be a bit embarrassing for the girl. There is nothing wrong with calling them all bridesmaids if you want and the "upgrade" will make them feel all special and grown up on the day.

The same dilemma goes with page boys because at a certain age the label is embarrassing for the lad so rather than usher they can be given the label groomsman (even though Mum and Dad tell me that in all reality they are in fact a page boy ? )

• M
    Beginner October 2018
    Meg101 ·
    • Hide content