Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

S
Beginner November 2005

Any accountants or people studying accountancy about?

Skittalie, 25 of August of 2009 at 16:48 Posted on Off Topic Posts 0 7

I'm looking at retraining to work in accountancy but I'm not sure which course would be the best for me to go for AAT, CIMA or ACCA and are those the main ones?

As a background I have a law degree, a post grad diploma in legal practice (course you have to do to become a solicitor and involves acouple of modules in business and solicitors acounts) and a masters in legal practice (quite managementy with a legal bias). I'm not hugely into numbers or anything and I think that was why I was drawn towards CIMA because it look more businessy and applicable to a range of careers rather than just straight accountancy, but other than that I have no idea. Oh and what do employers prefer if anything?

Have emailed some friends from school who are doing accountancy things, but I thought I'd ask here too just in case

7 replies

Latest activity by Redbedhead, 27 of August of 2009 at 09:47
  • Houdini
    Beginner August 2010
    Houdini ·
    • Hide content

AAT may be the best one to start on with a view to continuing to ACCA / ACA (Certified / Chartered)?

I started straight to ACCA and it is a long slog but with all your qualifications, it sounds as though education is your thing so you should have no problems! From what I know of colleagues who have done AAT, it's more of a foundation than a 'professional qualification' although it is obviously recognised as an accounting qualification. But that's only as I understand it so someone who has more knowledge of AAT may be able to help.