Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

Poppleton
Beginner June 2015

Barn Venues in North Yorkshire?

Poppleton, 31 of March of 2014 at 20:00 Posted on Planning 0 6

Hi guys, I'm new to Hitched, so I apologise if this post isn't in the write forum!

My fiancée and I are looking for somewhere to get married next June but are really struggling to find somewhere that suits us both. We're not religious, so don't want a church, but would like somewhere quite rustic, like an old barn. It's a relatively small do, about 60 guests so doesn't need to be huge, but if possible, we would want to have the ceremony and reception at the same venue.

We love York Maze but it may just be out of our budget. Boo. We also found Barmby Moor but that requires a lot of extra bits to hire (Toilets, tables etc.) that makes it quite expensive too. We want to do everything else DIY to fit in with the rustic feel and to save some pennies(!), so there's nothing else we can cut back on to be able to afford somewhere more expensive.

Does anyone know of any other, for want of a better word, 'rustic' venues in the North Yorkshire area? We live in York and are amazed at the lack of available barns in the area!

Anyway, thanks for reading and nice to meet you all!

6 replies

Latest activity by Poppleton, 1 of April of 2014 at 00:02
  • miss pickle
    Beginner June 2014
    miss pickle ·
    • Hide content

Have you considered hiring a village hall? There must be loads of pretty village halls in North Yorkshire and they normally have a really decent hire price.

You normally get them for the whole weekend when you hire them so you have time to do all the DIY you want and can look great with some nice decorations; bunting, etc ;-)