Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

D
Beginner June 2012

Bartering

Dyli, 28 September, 2010 at 14:17 Posted on Planning 0 9

Hi all, new to the site today. Currently trying to book the basics and just wanted some opinions on bartering? I'm not very good at doing that kind of thing and I didn't think it was the done thing for weddings but the cost of everything is beginning to spiral and a few people have said that they tried it and it worked. Has anyone tried and has it been worth it? If so, any tips?

Thanks

9 replies

Latest activity by Natalie2011, 29 September, 2010 at 14:00
  • D
    Beginner June 2012
    Dyli ·
    • Hide content

Great I will do, thanks for the advice. And good luck for the big day! not long now, bet your so excited!!

• M
    Beginner April 2011
    Magic Stars ·
    • Hide content

I've not bartered as such but managed to get £500 knocked off our photographer when I said he was out of our price range. I was prepared to walk away but he came back with a different quote/package than standard.

• W
    www.poesh.co.uk ·
    • Hide content

Hi and welcome to hitched. It doesn't hurt to ask, the worst they can say is no.

good luck with everything Smiley smile

• Ptoldriver
    Beginner September 2012
    Ptoldriver ·
    • Hide content

We've only booked our venue and car but although we didn't get any moeny knocked off the venue we managed to get them to reduce their minimum numbers from 60 day and 100 night to 55 day and 80 night, which then brought the cost down for us.

With the car he has agreed to hold the 2010 price even though it's another 2 years before we get married and will go up. If you can book quite far in advance I think it does help but just make sure you have everything agreed in writing and that you have insurance.

• Tina Teaspoon
    Beginner May 2011
    Tina Teaspoon ·
    • Hide content