Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

K
Beginner March 2011

Big gap between ceremony and evening reception... What to do?!?!

kirsty89, 31 August, 2009 at 20:24 Posted on Planning 0 7

Hi everyone,

I'm new to Hitched, been looking at the forums daily lol but this is my first post.

We are getting married at 3-15 at the register office in Lincoln on 27th August 2010.

We want to start the evening reception at 7-30pm. But that is a huge gap between the 2 times!

Dont want to have a sit down meal but need to do something lol

Any ideas?

7 replies

Latest activity by kirsty89, 2 September, 2009 at 23:37
  • pink alien
    Beginner May 2008
    pink alien ·
    • Hide content

Anything you want really!

Afternoon tea? a tour of a local attraction? a bus tour of the local area? just open the reception venue early and provide drinks? open a bar? provide cups of tea and board games? Totally depends on what you and your guests would like!

• Bridget Gump
    Bridget Gump ·
    • Hide content

Even though you don't want a sit down I do think you need to feed your guests if you are expecting them to stick around until the evening.

It could be anything, a buffet (hot, cold, finger, fork), a BBQ, a hog roast...

Apart from that the choice is yours, at least an hour will be taken up with photographs, but depending on how many guests you have they won't all be needed all the time for those.

I'm having giant garden games (for sale in a few weeks time ?)and a cartoonist for the few hours inbetween the ceremony and when we sit down for the wedding breakfast. However, at weddings I've been to previously that gap hasn't felt like a long gap because typically people are surrounded by people they know and spend the time chatting and catching up. 4 hours is a long time for people to just be standing around though.