Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

G
Beginner October 2016

Booking honeymoon in married name?

Galbear, 14 of December of 2015 at 15:44 Posted on Planning 0 13

Hi all,

I am new to Hitched - I got engaged to my fiancé on 7th November 2015 and our wedding will be 29th October 2016! Smiley smile

We are wanting to book our honeymoon flights tonight as we are going to Australia so would like to get the expense of the flights over and done with. However (and I don't know if this is a stupid question), do I book it in my name as it is now or in my married name? Do I need to change my passport before I can book? I don't know how it works.

Any advice you can give me would be much appreciated.

Thanks so much Smiley smile

13 replies

Latest activity by kay_, 21 of December of 2015 at 12:49
  • Jayne E
    VIP
    Jayne E ·
    • Hide content

Some book in their current name and don't change their passport until later.

i believe if you are marrying in the UK you can get paperwork from the registry office that allows you to change your passport before you travel. I don't know all the ins and outs of it so maybe ask about that before booking the flights if you don't want to travel in your current name.

Congratulations and welcome to hitched Smiley smile

• Jayne E
    VIP
    Jayne E ·
    • Hide content

Sorry should have read paperwork allows you to change your passport before you marry!

• N
    Beginner January 2016
    NoMoore ·
    • Hide content

It's easy enough to change your passport, there is a form you get the person marrying you to fill out and you send it off with a normal passport application form. It costs the same amount as a new passport. It can be done up to 12 weeks before the wedding date but then you are unable to use it until the date of the wedding. I changed mine as I think it's nice to be able to fly off as Mr & Mrs... x

• G
    Beginner October 2016
    Galbear ·
    • Hide content