Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

A
Beginner August 2024 Warwickshire

Bridesmaids presents

Andreea, 8 of February of 2023 at 14:18 Posted on Planning 0 12
Hi I’m new to England customs. I’m Romanian so we have different traditions.

I also heard that is a custom to get a present/ presents bag for bridesmaids. Is that true? If so what presents everyone bought?
I’m marrying next year in August si I know it’s a long time but if I need to get anything I’ll have to start looking .
Also I was told that I have to pay for all the bridesmaids hair and makeup , my mum and my partner’s mum plus to get them two a bouquet of flowers. In my country our tradition is the future in laws to buy the bride’s dress but I don’t expect it to happen or asked for it either. I’m a bit conflicted as to what the customs are as I don’t want to go overboard with things that I have a choice not to do it. Plus everything is very expensive.

12 replies

Latest activity by Andreea, 11 of February of 2023 at 11:16
  • Ajx
    Dedicated April 2024 West Yorkshire
    Ajx ·
    • Hide content

You can buy/not buy whatever you want! Just because it's tradition it doesnt mean it has to happen. It's tradition for the Bride's family to pay for the wedding but my family aren't putting a penny in. I am paying for my bridesmaid's dresses but if they want their hair and make up doing they are paying for it themselves.

Try not to get too caught up on what is expected and just do what you can afford xx

• A
    Andreea ·
    • Hide content
    View quoted message
    thank-you-art.gif
    Thank you x
  • Ellen91
    Dedicated October 2023 West London
    Ellen91 ·
    • Hide content
    Similarly to AJX, I am paying for my bridesmaids dresses but not hair and make up. Then when it comes to the wedding itself my parents have bought my dress and we are paying for everything else ourselves.