Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

GeordieBarbie
Beginner May 2010

Calling cake makers and florists...

GeordieBarbie, 1 December, 2009 at 21:00 Posted on Planning 0 7

So, as mentioned, our Mam's our making the cakes and D's Mam is making it (1 fruit tier, 2 sponge tiers).

I was planning a stacked cake but now more thinking about a tiered cake. Is one easy to do than the other? The cake will be made in Nottingham and travel to Bristol. I did think that the tier option might be easier.

These are the 2 designs we like.

Florists - how easy are the flowers to do on the tiered cake? Any tips? Or would we have to ask a florist to do it for us?

Thanks!

7 replies

Latest activity by Catherines Cakes, 3 December, 2009 at 20:51
  • bygeorge
    bygeorge ·
    • Hide content

Apologies in advance to any cake makers out there....I'm no expert!

We have found the best way to put flowers in a tiered cake is to use a cake seperator like the one below; this allows you to put a small bit of either dry or very well drained oasis or floral foam in the void, which you can then push the flowers into once the cake is assembled, without any of the foam coming into contact with the cake.

For the top, use cake picks if you can. Big, blousy roses work best for this kind of thing as they fill the space really well. Are you planning on using your gerberas here too? If so, I'd probably recommend using a big cream rose like avalanche to fill the space, then use gerberas to sit amongst them. The gerberas on their own won't give you enough bulk to get the effect, and won't support themselves very well.

HTH a bit!

• GeordieBarbie
    Beginner May 2010
    GeordieBarbie ·
    • Hide content

Thanks George! That's very helpful.

Dumb question now - that pic you've posted - does that just sit on top of the cake? Wouldn't it squash the cake?