Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

H
Beginner August 2013

Engagement ring insurance

hampshire_bride, 21 March, 2012 at 13:20 Posted on Planning 0 11

Hi everyone. I am fairly new to all of this. I got engaged last month and I think it's a good idea to get the ring insured. I have never worn such expensive jewellery and have never even owned a ring of any sort before. It's taking a bit of getting used to wearing but I absolutely love it :-) Anyway, that aside I was wondering if anyone had any recommendation for an insurance company? I guess I would want it covered for theft, loss and severe damage?. I'm paranoid about it falling off even though i have to tugg a bit to get it off!

Thanks in advance for any reccommedations.

11 replies

Latest activity by 2b_MrsB, 22 March, 2012 at 11:19
  • N
    Beginner June 2012
    Nicalf08 ·
    • Hide content

Do you have household insurance? We put mine under that, it is the most expensive thing I own so definitely wanted it insured! I went to the jewellers and told them I wanted it covered under my insurance so they printed something out that I sent to the insurance company to be added on.

• kharv
    Beginner March 2012
    kharv ·
    • Hide content

Depending on how much the ring is worth, it may well be covered automatically on your home contents insurance. This is normally for items up to £1500 but you'll have to check exactly what it covers you for (damage etc).

If it is more than that you can add it as an itemised addition to your contents insurance.

Do a fresh quote first with your insurer over the internet. When I tried to add mine on it was coming out as an extra £10 a month whereas to cancel the policy and take out a fresh quote with it itemised from the beginning was only £2 extra a month.

• far2calm
    Beginner May 2012
    far2calm ·
    • Hide content

Added mine to the house insurance, so it is actually listed and covered at its value.

• B