Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

Knownowt

Farrow and Ball fans (Rache?)

Knownowt, 19 of August of 2009 at 18:07 Posted on Off Topic Posts 0 8

I've never used F&B paint before. is it really worth the extra money- colour-wise Dulux can match anything so what difference does it make to use F&B?

If it is worth it, would you recommend the estate emulsion or modern?

8 replies

Latest activity by Lady Falafel, 19 of August of 2009 at 19:32
  • Rache
    Beginner January 2004
    Rache ·
    • Hide content

It's so definitely worth it. It's not just the colour - it's the quality of the paint, the density - it has a "presence" that normal paint doesn't. But it wouldn't cost you much to colour match and compare 2 sample pots so you can see what I mean for yourself. I honestly wouldn't use anything else now.

• Rache
    Beginner January 2004
    Rache ·
    • Hide content

I can't remember which one I used, sorry. The last painting we did was 3 years ago and that was the exterior (oil eggshell IIRC)

• geekypants
    Beginner August 2008
    geekypants ·
    • Hide content

The estate emulsion is fabulously 'flat' in colour, with the modern being more sheeny. IIRC, the modern is completely washable, the estate only wipeable.

I rung them to see which colour would be best for the woodwork (its a tiny house so no point doing it all different) and the lady could not have been more helpful. Samples were sent, with handwritten note to boot.

• fox-in-socks
    Beginner May 2006
    fox-in-socks ·
    • Hide content

I love love love F&B. geeky is spot on re modern and estate, we have modern in kitchen estate elsewhere. also used their matt outdoor stuff for front door and it looks bloody brilliant.

got to go because MrF about to serve up dinner, will tweet later if have time so can chat there!

• B
    blimey ·
    • Hide content