Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

*libby*
Beginner June 2011

getting a mortgage after an iva...

*libby*, 19 March, 2012 at 14:07 Posted on Off Topic Posts 0 7

H and I are saving for a deposit on a house. We cant apply for a mortgage yet as H has an IVA . My H thinks his bad credit disapears after the iva is complete but ive looked online and it says a year after its complete. I know people with good credit that struggle to get a mortgage, Has anyone here had a mortgage after an IVA?

Also im self employed now (since Aug 11) will that cause problems too? it will be our first time buying so i have no idea at all!

Thanks all ?

7 replies

Latest activity by *libby*, 19 March, 2012 at 19:28
  • smazzy_smoo
    Beginner June 2014
    smazzy_smoo ·
    • Hide content

I'm no expert, but you may struggle. My OH has a perfect credit rating, and although all the banks we approached would lend to us, some wouldn't lend much. To give you a fighting chance, you'll need a pretty hefty deposit.

• Saisi
    Beginner June 2011
    Saisi ·
    • Hide content

I *think* you need to have been working for 2 years self-employed before you can be considered for a mortgage. Have you checked out the MoneySavingExpert website and forums? You might be able to get more answers by posting your question on their forums.

It's always worth speaking to the bank (probably wherever you have your joint account / one of you has a main account) - we thought nobody would lend to us as H is in 'temporary' employment, but because he has been employed for over 2 years continuously with no break, the bank are treating him as permanently employed. However this was only with the bank where we have our joint account (and where our salary is paid into) - other banks won't consider us.

• AmnesiaCustard
    Beginner June 2011
    AmnesiaCustard ·
    • Hide content

Have you heard about your flat yet FMrsJ?

• Saisi
    Beginner June 2011