Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

RuthG
Beginner July 2004

has anyone got underfloor heating?

RuthG, 6 January, 2009 at 22:42 Posted on Off Topic Posts 0 17

We're buying a house that currently has no heating system. MrG suggested the possibility of having underfloor heating, but I've no idea on the cost. Has anybody had it fitted? It's a 3 bed, 2 reception semi, any ideas on price?

Also is it worth it? I like the idea of not having radiators and pipes etc, but what if one of the pipes burst - how likely is that?

17 replies

Latest activity by jason.baptiste, 23 December, 2009 at 15:37
  • whitty1
    Beginner December 2003
    whitty1 ·
    • Hide content

I don't have underfloor heating in my house but I design UFH systems for a living! The cost would depend on the floor construction of the house. Timber joisted floors are more expensive to retro-fit but a lot less hassle than digging up an existing concrete floor! You can get overlay systems but they still raise the floor level by a couple of inches so not ideal in a modern house which doesn't have high ceilings anyway.

Cost is based on square meterage rather than number of rooms as it can vary so much (unlike with rads where you have 1 in each room)

It's VERY unlikely that a pipe will burst once it is in the floor. We've never had one. With UFH you have no fittings in the floor either so you don't have a problem with leaky fittings either.

• RuthG
    Beginner July 2004
    RuthG ·
    • Hide content

Thank you so much. It has timber floorboards throughout. Forgive me for being so incredibly dense, but what is it connected to/controlled by?

• whitty1
    Beginner December 2003
    whitty1 ·
    • Hide content