Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

D
Beginner April 2012

Help! Fiance freaking out over money

Dotty Pants, 6 October, 2011 at 21:20 Posted on Planning 0 20

Hi ladies

I'm new to the whole wedding planning experience. We are getting married on 28th April 2012 we've got loads of ideas and I am keen to book things ASAP as only 7 months away. However my fiance freaks out everytime I mention the cost of ANYTHING related to the wedding. He is quite tight with money most of the time except when it involves fun things like skiing holidays, and random boys toys etc. Although he knows venues/catering costs probably cost over £2000 he gets all cross about it because it's expensive! We haven't got loads of money put aside but should be ok just about to have what we want.

I mentioned the cost of a Photographer I liked (in a v sensitive way) and he couldn't believe it. initially we were going to have a friend of a friend do our photography, probably a few hundred, but I looked at his work and I didn't like it. So fiance doesn't feel we've budgeted for this, I'm not concerned as we have enough money but he just gets so worked up about money!

I don't know what to do as I need to talk to him about catering costs, photographers costs etc, but don't know how to do this so he doesn't freak out all the time!

20 replies

Latest activity by Randomsabreur, 7 October, 2011 at 21:47
  • lisaanne
    Beginner April 2012
    lisaanne ·
    • Hide content

Hii!! I'm getting married 26th April 2012, so you're probably the closest to a date twin i'm going to get, as I'm getting married on a random Thursday!

What I did was sit and work out a budget, then showed it to my fiance, who is very similar when it comes to money. He would do it all as cheap as possible with about 5 people there if I agreed!

• sapphire_22
    Beginner September 2011
    sapphire_22 ·
    • Hide content