Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

K
Beginner July 2012

HELP My wedding dress is too short!!

katiejm1989, 19 March, 2012 at 23:58 Posted on Planning 0 6

Hello, i am fairly new to this so you will have to bear with me....

My budget is fairly miniscule so i decided to look on ebay for my dress, i fell in love with a gorgeous new wedding dress that somebody was selling and got it for a bargain price.

Its strapless ivory aline dress, with detailing on the bodice and a ruffled sash on the front under the bust, the skirt is plain. zip at the side and corset back. Only problem is its about an inch too short - and that would be with flat shoes. I love the detailing on the bodice, in fact i love the whole dress and as i got it for such a bargain was thinking of getting it altered...which is my dilemma? what to do?

Do i get it shortened to tealength? or add a tulle overskirt that is longer than the dress? it would sit under the sash so wouldnt stand out?

Any advice is welcome?

6 replies

Latest activity by 3d jewellery, 20 March, 2012 at 07:40
  • 2b_MrsB
    Beginner June 2013
    2b_MrsB ·
    • Hide content

Hi and welcome,

Without seeing the dress its hard to advice you , but I think it be best if you took it to a dressmaker and asked her advice, she may even beable to give you a couple of options. ?

Good Luck !

L x

• K
    Beginner July 2012
    katiejm1989 ·
    • Hide content

• ButterflyChild
    Beginner May 2013
    ButterflyChild ·
    • Hide content

Definitely take it to a dress maker!! They have millions of fantastic ways to hide things like this. Don't give up on your dress - alterations can be cheaper than you think!! Good luck with it Smiley smile

• sugarbox
    Beginner December 2012
    sugarbox ·
    • Hide content

I think it's ok to get it shortrned to tealength ,you can ask the tailors.Good luck for you .

• venart
    Beginner June 2013
    venart ·
    • Hide content