Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

Daisy Bell
Beginner August 2015

High street wedding dresses

Daisy Bell, 30 of September of 2014 at 13:43 Posted on Planning 0 12

Hi ladies,

My boyfriend and I want to do a planned elopement next summer and I am just beginning planning and researching venues, etc.

Since we have a limited budget, I don't want to spend too much on my wedding dress. I do want it to be beautiful of course, but I don't think it needs to be a super traditional dress as I think we may have the ceremony outside (maybe the beach?). So one of those big dresses might look out of place.

I saw that BHS do inexpensive wedding dresses and I really like the look of this one, just to give you an example:

http://www.bhs.co.uk/en/bhuk/product/wedding-1020484/the-bride-1020511/wedding-dresses-1020869/sofia-long-bridal-dress-2534774?bi=1&ps=20

Does anyone have any other recommendations for where I could find a wedding dress that is around £200-300?

I don't want to buy a dress just yet as I am doing WW at the moment and want to lose a good chunk of weight before we get married (already lost 22 pounds but I have about 70 to go!) and I'd rather not have to get extensive alterations, but I would be really grateful for suggestions as to which shops do wedding dresses I could afford on my budget.

Thanks all!

12 replies

Latest activity by pinkypoo85, 6 of October of 2014 at 14:18
  • R
    Beginner December 2014
    rambosmum ·
    • Hide content

I love the idea of a romantic elopement, unfortunately H2B had other ideas!

I got my dress from a wedding shop but it was a sample sale so I got it for £500- there were dresses which were much cheaper than that, including one which I nearly got for £150. So you could try that route?

Also phase 8 (though John Lewis) and monsoon have some nice ones. Or try stillwhite.com if you don't mind pre-loved?

• T
    Beginner October 2014
    Trueowl ·
    • Hide content