Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

S
Beginner October 2018

Holiday Cottage Rental for Reception

SunnyGreenConfetti967, 15 of October of 2017 at 12:24 Posted on Planning 0 7

Hi,

recently engaged and hoping to be tying the knot around this time next year. This is my first time posting on here but have been spending some time reading other threads!

We would like to get married in Kent ideally somewhere mid to north as we are based Dartford and have family and friends from Bexley and Medway.

I noticed on a really old thread someone mentioned renting out a holiday cottage for the reception then doing it like a big old party yourself. I just wondered if anyone had done this and how it worked for them or any recommendations for rentals in Kent or Sussex that maybe did this?

Really keen on this idea due to the flexibility it would give for setting up, food and music as were not really sit down 3 course set menu meal kinda people!

Any advice much appreciated ?

7 replies

Latest activity by Yana, 16 of February of 2023 at 17:28
  • L
    Beginner October 2018
    LuxuriousBrownStationery991 ·
    • Hide content

Following this as I'm planning the same thing!

• H
    Beginner May 2018
    HappyBrownConfetti849 ·
    • Hide content

I have mentioned this before, if you're going for just a select few you can probably go on cottages.com and rent a house for a few days, but you will probably need to ask the owner if they're okay with you having a party there. These cottages will be relatively small though.

Also after a quick Google search, there is such a thing as "party house hire" -i can't recommend any as I haven't done it before, but at least you have the relevant search term now to do some research. Because wording can really make a difference!