Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

L
Beginner July 2016

Honouring family members at the wedding that are no longer with us - ideas?

Little_MrsA2B, 2 of October of 2014 at 15:02 Posted on Planning 1 14

Hi everyone. I'm a newbie. Just got engaged last week and I am soooooooo happy! I am so excited to be marrying the most incredible person in the world Smiley smile I'm sure I will have a lot of questions for you all, as I am COMPLETELY clueless about weddings and am not very 'girly girl' at all! Still, I will give it a try!

I had a question and I wondered if any of you had been in the same position. My H2B's mum died about a year before we met so unfortunately I never got to meet her. Having got to know my H2B and his 3 siblings, I don't doubt she was a phenomenal woman. I would like to have some way of honouring her at our wedding but not sure how we could do this. Have any of you done anything similar?

I'd really appreciate any ideas from you all! Thanks Smiley smile x

14 replies

Latest activity by Shelly70, 5 of October of 2014 at 07:29
  • LittleMissPanda
    Beginner October 2015
    LittleMissPanda ·
    • Hide content

Hi there Smiley smile

Congratulations on getting engaged!!

I think its lovely that you wanted to honor your partner's mother ... we're doing a similar thing for the people we wish could be with us

It's nothing fancy mind, just a table decorated nicely with some of our favorite photos of them all and a plaque that says "We know you would be here today if Heaven weren't so far away" <-- shamelessly stolen from Pinterest!

We'll have some sunflower shaped cupcakes for that table, as they were my great-grandma's favorite, and probably some small-ish bunches of gypsophila in little vases

Not sure if this helps, but I hope you enjoy planning your special day
    Best of luck Smiley smile

x

• charliejack
    Beginner October 2014
    charliejack ·
    • Hide content