Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

R
Beginner July 2015

Horrible thing happened to my boyfriend

ReadyRach, 4 of November of 2014 at 11:04 Posted on Off Topic Posts 0 28

Hi all,

I'm a newbie here. No wedding date set yet but very keen to start planning. My fiancée is a police officer and there's been some uncertainty about his role and base for next year so that's made life a bit tricky as far as plans are concerned. However, something happened a little while back that has caused him to brush aside planning talk and I've taken the plunge and decided to post here to get some thoughts as I can't ask anyone else - you'll see why when you read on. I've posted in off-topic as well for the same reason.

Well, here goes. A couple of months back my fiancée (I'll call him S) was coming back from work after one of his shifts. They'd been deployed at an outdoor event, then transported back by coach and as it was the end of shift time, those who wanted dropping off at the tube station (we're London-based) were permitted to do so. S was apparently in dire need of a visit to the loo for a wee (not an uncommon occurrence when he gets home!) but he and a couple of his mates nonetheless jumped on the tube train for their journey back.

Some of you may recall this incident (in late July) when there was an incident on the underground network and some train lines were brought to a halt for ages, with some passengers trapped. Well, S's train was held up for almost an hour before they finally got into the station. I was at home and I got a call from S asking me to go and pick him up from the station which wasn't his usual destination. I knew something was wrong but he wouldn't say and I flew there in a panic, thinking he'd been injured or something at work.