Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

Loopy
Beginner October 2005

How far do you commute to work on a daily basis?

Loopy, 17 September, 2009 at 12:07 Posted on Off Topic Posts 0 26

We're thinking of moving, well, we NEED to move to a bigger house but a 4 bed house in a decent area in Gloucester is too far out of our budget. We were thinking of moving to Evesham where we can get a lovely decent sized house in a sought after area, and which is not to far from my husband's job in Tewkesbury but I work in Gloucester city centre (council) and it would mean a 45 minute drive. So 90 minutes at least in the car daily. I'm an office manager (although got an interview next week for a promotion) and don't get a huge amount of money.

So how far do you commute? How far is too far for an office/administration job?

26 replies

Latest activity by Brian Parkes LSWPP (HIB), 28 September, 2009 at 13:29
  • cotteesgirl
    Beginner September 2009
    cotteesgirl ·
    • Hide content

Hey loopy, well i do an hour on train and then another half hour by tube each way each day (plus 10 mins walk to station)....i must admit it does drain me & i find im knackered by the weekend, having said that i think driving is worse as you need full attention but i do think a 90min drive each day is doable, but obviously costly too. Good luck with what you decide.

• rachele
    Beginner October 2008
    rachele ·
    • Hide content

I work in Sales Support I do a 50 mile round trip drive every day - I live 5 miles off Jct 13 of the M1, down to Jct 10.

That can take me, in rush hour, anything from 30 mins to 2 hours, depending on whether the weather is crap or there has been a crash and everyone is rubber necking / motorway closed.