Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

Canary
Beginner August 2013

I am a student/RAF reserve forces training officer. Ask me anything

Canary, 23 April, 2012 at 19:27 Posted on Off Topic Posts 0 7

My current 'full time occupation' is as a Health & Human Sciences student although I only have my exams left before I graduate. I applied to a number of graduate schemes and was unsuccessful, leading to a number of applications with the NHS amongst other things.

I also volunteer with the Air Cadet Organisation. Through this I got a commission in the RAF as a volunteer reserve forces in the training branch. Until November I ran a squadron of 60 cadets, 10 staff and a committee. We paraded two nights a week and it also took up around 70% of my weekends. The cadets get to do a number of activities such as flying, gliding and adventure training. I spent my last weekend supervising 32 teams of 6 cadets from various squadrons in Essex take part in a two day competition which included shooting, obstacle course, speed march, navigation exercise, campcraft, map and bearings and first aid.

Ask me anything

7 replies

Latest activity by Canary, 23 April, 2012 at 20:37
  • AmnesiaCustard
    Beginner June 2011
    AmnesiaCustard ·
    • Hide content

What's the point of drill?

• Canary
    Beginner August 2013
    Canary ·
    • Hide content
    View quoted message

Quite a lot but the main thing we use it for is team work.

Imagine 12x teenagers having to complete a sequence of moves in complete time and with attention to detail. Every foot should be in the right place, arms should be in identical positions and it all should be done at exactly the same time. It's hard work and it encourages them to work together and think together. Having been a cadet myself, when you nail that sequence and everything is perfect, it gives a fantastic sense of achievement.