Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

daisymoo86
Beginner July 2016

I daren't ask for a payrise :(

daisymoo86, 17 of September of 2015 at 16:39 Posted on Off Topic Posts 0 29

I earn a fairly low wage (£16k). Its not appalling by any means, I am just finding it tough saving for the wedding, the honeymoon and having a life in the meantime.

I work in the legal sector and have been in my job for 2 years. I am good at my job and my responsibilities have increased over that time. Anyway, we had a new trainee start on Monday and I am effectively helping train her. Just found out her salary and its £5k more p.a. then mine. Not going to lie, I have spent most of this afternoon really miffed. If I were to have that income I would have £300 extra per month which would definitely solve all my problems.

The problem is I daren't ask for a pay rise so I just have to plod along as I am. I do have my yearly appraisal coming up in December and last years resulted in a £1k pay increase. So do I just wait and see what happens this time? I doubt that it would jump from £16k - £21k but to be honest even at £18k I would be so much better off.

I suppose this is just more of a rant really. Anyone else in a similar scenario?

29 replies

Latest activity by MrsShep, 18 of November of 2015 at 20:49
  • MadamRed
    Beginner April 2017
    MadamRed ·
    • Hide content

I haven't, but my sister has. Just make sure you've done your prep, present your case, and ask for a payrise. The worst that can happen is they say "no".

• Jayne E
    VIP
    Jayne E ·
    • Hide content

Sometimes things just get forgotten. I had a member of staff in the same situation. Biggieh company. Once it was pointed out to them they realised that when dreaming up the new position they didn't take into account people who had been it for a while getting % raises. It was all sorted.

Why can't you calmly discuss your findings.

• bubblerawk