Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

VikingPrincess
Beginner December 2011

Invites wording when reception is at the same location as ceremony - help!

VikingPrincess, 2 January, 2011 at 00:53 Posted on Planning 0 10

Hi all,

As it says above -how do you word it?

All the samples I have read say "...to celebrate their marriage at xx:xx, on xx xxx xxxx, at XXXXXXXXXXXX followed by a reception at XXXXXXXX" or similar.

Would you say "Followed by a reception at the same venue"? I dunno, sounds a bit... wrong?? LOL - my OH is laughing, saying that he can't believe I can't word something... considering I am a former journalist currently working as a Communications manager for a bank LOL!!! I mean wording stuff is what I do for a living hehehehe!

I'd be much obliged for some help, especially examples of what other brides who are having the reception at the same place as the ceremony have used.

Many thanks, and HAPPY NEW YEAR 2011!

VP xxx

10 replies

Latest activity by BumbleBrat, 2 January, 2011 at 13:27
  • Treacle76
    Beginner February 2012
    Treacle76 ·
    • Hide content

I've only done a draft of the invite at the moment but the wording I've used is:

"L & D request the pleasure of your company at their marriage at XXX on Saturday 4th February 2012 at 2 o’clock, and afterwards for a reception".

Not sure if this is he exact wording I'll use but something along those lines! Hope that helps x

• stripeyrache
    Beginner February 2011
    stripeyrache ·
    • Hide content

We put "To be followed by a reception at [name of venue]". If you're not to keen on that idea, a friend of mine got married last year and her invites said "To be followed by a reception in [name of room]" It worked for her as it was a stately home/hotel, the ceremony was in the Oak Room with the meal in the Library.

My invites:

HTH

• Inspire Me Designs
    Inspire Me Designs ·
    • Hide content

Hi VP.

How's things?