Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

maryg111
Beginner May 2011

Is no sit-down meal ok????

maryg111, 30 of December of 2009 at 13:47 Posted on Planning 0 17

We have recently got engaged and have a small-ish budget to be working with - and i am starting to realise just how expensive the reception can be!!!! We have approx £3000-£3500 for the reception and 100-130 guests!!!!

Most important to me is that all my friends and family are there - but we can't afford a sit down meal for everyone....

Do you think it is acceptable to have say a 4pm wedding ceremony and a huge party in the eveing with buffet and cake etc????

I still want the whole first dance, cutting the cake (which i am making - eeek!) and a speech from my dad - do you think this would work?

I am completely new to all this, so any advice would be really appreciated........ ?

Thank you x

17 replies

Latest activity by kj82, 1 of January of 2010 at 20:21
  • Lynseys Designs
    Beginner
    Lynseys Designs ·
    • Hide content

I think a 4pm wedding is an awkward time as I'd be hungry about 6pm so depends on when you would have the buffet?

I'm not against a no sit down wedding but you would need to time the buffet right and also make sure the food was filing enough to last people through the whole night. x

• maryg111
    Beginner May 2011
    maryg111 ·
    • Hide content

OMG - thanks so much - obviously i would need to get the timings right and everything, but your friends wedding sounds like exactly what I want!!

Thanks for reassuring me!

I have my eye on a venue that has a big marquee and does BBQs and Hog Roasts - it would certainly be something different!!!!

• N
    Beginner
    nickelbabe ·
    • Hide content

Hog roasts and BBQs are a great idea. you can still do the speeches as long as everyone can sit down near each other (and have tables available!)