Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

M
Beginner July 2015

Keeping maiden name for work purposes

MrsB2015, 3 of July of 2014 at 20:48 Posted on Planning 0 14

I work as a contractor so I move around quite a bit and get work mainly through recommendations. I have lots of linked in recommendations in my maiden name. Would it be odd to keep my maiden name for work or will it cause confusion? I just don't want to loose what I have built up by changing my name.

Any advice?

xx

14 replies

Latest activity by cymruangel, 4 of July of 2014 at 16:20
  • McFarley
    Beginner September 2014
    McFarley ·
    • Hide content

I think loads of women do this, lovely. Not odd at all and you're certainly not alone. If my current surname was my maiden name i'd be doing this, but as it is I want Mr McFarley's surname rather than my ex's Smiley smile x

• jen-lou
    Super July 2016
    jen-lou ·
    • Hide content

A girl who I work with has kept her maiden name for work. I dont think its that uncommon (I could be wrong though lol)

• beccak
    Beginner September 2014
    beccak ·
    • Hide content

My business partner keeps trying to suggest that I keep my maiden name for work, but I've already decided that I'll be using my married name. I know it's only a name, but I'm the same person whether I'm at home or at work and I don't suddenly want two personas. Also, if you keep using your maiden name do you start calling yourself Mrs, or do you remain Miss? I've been booking onto various conferences for later in the year in my married name already, and generally telling people I'll be Mrs C soon so I don't really think it'll be an issue. I'll be referring to myself as Mrs C (nee K) for a while though I expect. I presume on LinkedIn you just update your name, so you don't need to create a new profile or anything.

• mustard_mitt
    Beginner September 2015
    mustard_mitt ·
    • Hide content