Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

jimjams
Savvy May 2013

Late afternoon wedding, no wedding breakfast.. Thoughts??

jimjams, 20 of June of 2012 at 20:20 Posted on Planning 0 44

Hi all,

I am completely new to Hitched, but from looking at the others forum posts, I am hoping you're the ladies to help!!

My partner and I really want to tie the knot with the church/dress/family etc that British wedding are all about... But... With a house still to buy and a future to save for, we really don't want to spend thousands and thousands on it... I know, I want my cake and eat it too!!

So, we were thinking of having a late summer afternoon church wedding, but then heading straight to the evening Receptin venue for cake, speeches, buffet and evening party/disco etc.

I'd love to know your thoughts, good and bad? What would you think if you were invited to a wedding like that? What could/might pose a problem etc? I'm really just trying to work out if it's a realistic option!

Thank you sooooo much xxx

44 replies

Latest activity by Kenna, 18 of May of 2021 at 20:19
  • V
    Beginner April 2013
    Vintage84 ·
    • Hide content

Hog roast is probably your best bet. The problem with inviting people to a wedding with little food is that people tend to drink quite a bit at weddings. Hog roasts are relatively cheap for the amount of people they feed and you could make up a cold pasta salad, bulk buy some nice coleslaw etc. to give options. Weddings don't have to be expensive to be fabulous!!

• jimjams
    Savvy May 2013
    jimjams ·
    • Hide content

That's a really good idea, I like that, and very much my OH and I's style...!!

I think I'm just worried people will think it's a cheapskates trick, or like they've been robbed of a wedding guests right to a three course meal lol

Thank you so much for the suggestion, I'm going to run that one by him indoors :-)

xxx

• *Ducky*
    Beginner July 2012
    *Ducky* ·