Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

C
Beginner April 2012

Maid of Honour in the UK, and a Bridesmaid and a Flower Girl in South Africa

chilihead, 28 April, 2011 at 14:37 Posted on Planning 0 2

Hi everyone.

I'm a newbie to this forum, and am getting married next Feb in South Africa.

I would really like my two bridesmaids and my flower girl to have matching dresses, but am having a nightmare sorting this as two are in South Africa and one is in the UK.

I've found "foreverbridals.com".......which has stockists in Cape Town and throughout the UK - however, the bridesmaids and their families are based in Johannesburg. (Joberg is a good 18 hours drive away from Cape Town. Both bridesmaids are studying so don't really want to have to ask them to take time off from their studies for fittings).

I've checked department stores in the UK that ship to South Africa (John Lewis/Dorothy Perkins/Next) - but am having a problem finding a flower girl dress to match any bridesmaid dresses I like. Not to mention export charges. Hmmmph.

A possible option is to get the UK based Maid of Honours dress sorted first, then get someone in SA to buy the other 2 dresses in the same colour - but, I really would like the three dresses to match in style, colour and material.

The thought of ordering all three in the UK and shipping 2 out to SA freaks me out due to the sheer cost of shipping, insurance, possible damage to the dresses in transit, loss etc.

Help!! Has anyone had similar experiences? Can anyone offer any advice?

Thanks

chilihead

2 replies

Latest activity by Saisi, 28 April, 2011 at 15:10
  • Saisi
    Beginner June 2011
    Saisi ·
    • Hide content

If it was me, I'd be getting a pattern so the girls can find their own seamstress to make their dresses. It won't be any more expensive than what bridal stores charge for bridesmaid dresses. Then you can dictate style and colour.