Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

L
Beginner December 2015

Marrying in secret here before the ceremony abroad...opinions please?

LJ21, 24 of March of 2013 at 00:47 Posted on Honeymoons & Getting Married Abroad 0 7

Hi,

I'm new to this sort of! H2B and I have been engaged for two years now and had initially arranged a winter wedding in the UK for this December, but due to relocation, put the whole thing on hold. We have now decided to marry abroad with only close family and friends, most likely in the Dominican Republic. Our reasons for marrying abroad are a) it's less stress and b) significantly cheaper, not to mention we can spend the day focusing on us rather than worrying about long lost uncle Bob and whether he is enjoying his meal!

I've been researching all day and have discovered that we would not get our certificate for up to 12 months after the wedding, it all needs translating and there are 101 different documents and forms to be sent to various places and stamped etc, which sounds very stressful! So I thought, we get married in a registry office here with two witnesses and don't tell anyone. Has anyone done this? I'm just worried that if we don't tell people that we're officially married, people may feel conned into spending a lot of money travelling to a 'pretend' wedding. I love the idea that it will be our secret, but think something will crop up on the day highlighting the fact that we're already married, for instance wehn we don't sign the certificate and people may be upset.

Any thoughts and opinions would be appreciated Smiley smile

7 replies

Latest activity by Ampy, 25 of April of 2013 at 16:51
  • I
    Beginner July 2013
    ibizabride0713 ·
    • Hide content

Hi,