Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

S
Beginner September 2016

May Half Term Wedding?

Soulsby1, 11 March, 2013 at 19:06 Posted on Planning 0 4

Hi everyone,

Me and my partner just recently got engaged and we're struggling to set a date. We're been backwards and forwards between either September or May 2015.

The most important things for us is that there's a good chance of nice sunny weather, that it doesn't cost too much money and that myself and others don't miss too much work! I'm a teacher and so a half term or just before going back to work after the summer break would be best.

What are your opinions on a wedding during the May half term? I'm thinking maybe Tues 26th, Wed 27th or Thursday 28th May 2015. Can anyone see any issues with those dates? Would the venue charge us more money as it's a half term?

An outside eye looking in would really help as we are finding it hard to come to a definite decision!

Thank you so much :o)

Rhea.

4 replies

Latest activity by Irisbride, 13 March, 2013 at 08:49
  • tayto
    Beginner May 2013
    tayto ·
    • Hide content

Congratulations on your engagement & welcome to hitched!

I would have thought that a wedding on a mid-week would be cheaper regardless of half term? I'd suggest contacting some venues and discuss dates with them before you decide on the date for definite.

We're getting married in Ireland and picked a bank holiday for both UK and Ireland and we havne't ended up paying any more than anyone else we know who's going with the same venue for just a regular weekend.

• goldpants
    Beginner May 2014
    goldpants ·
    • Hide content