Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

M
Beginner October 2011

My first wedding dress fitting!

Mrs.Keogh2b, 23 January, 2011 at 13:35 Posted on Planning 0 2

Hi all, I am going wedding dress shopping on friday 28th Jan and wondered what to expect? I have never tried one on before or been with anyone who has. So im a little anxious about it all.

Anyone got any tips or info would set my mind at ease.

Thanks

Gemma

2 replies

Latest activity by sapphire_22, 23 January, 2011 at 14:48
  • Storky
    Beginner May 2011
    Storky ·
    • Hide content

1 - take someone honest with you or go alone. You can take your 'entourage' once you've narrowed down your choices. Too many cooks...

2 - try on as many different styles as you can until you work out what suits you. Wedding gowns cary tremendously and what you think will suit you might not, so keep an open mind.

3 - even if you don't like them (I'm not a fan), try on a huge meringue type dress. They are super fun to prance around in!

4 - wear a decent bra. Strapless if possible. You need something to give you some decent support.

5 - wear a paid of big pants that you'll be comfortable in. You be stood in your undies in front of women you don't know so bear that in mind if you want to wear a tiny pair of knickers!

6 - take a bottle of water. It's more tiring than you think!

7 - most shops won't let you take photos but do ask, some are more relaxed than others. If you find dresses you like, make sure you make a note of the designer and name of the dress so you can look it up when you get home.

8 - enjoy yourself!

• sapphire_22
    Beginner September 2011
    sapphire_22 ·
    • Hide content

^^WSS. Particularly the bit about wearing big pants. Didn't think of this when I went dress shopping and turned up wearing a thong. Spent the whole afternoon trying to (unsuccessfully) hide my bare bum from the middle aged shop assistant ?