Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

B
Beginner September 2012

Portsmouth bride completely in over her head!

Baggins86, 11 January, 2011 at 21:47 Posted on Planning 0 21

Hi All

I am completely new to all this wedding planning, am very excited although finding it much more difficult then anticipated!

The main reason I have signed up for this website is for some much needed help. I am looking for a wedding venue for me and my fiance in or around the Portsmouth area, however which isn't a church, registry office and probably not a hotel either (as I would prefer to have the whole place to ourselves, and I can imagine renting out a whole hotel costs an arm and a leg).

Another point which we are yet to decide on is whether to find one place to hold both the wedding and reception, or whether to find seperates (one place for wedding and another for reception). I have pro's and con's of each (which I am going to bore you all with now hehe:?

One location - Pros: Not having to move from one place to another inbetween ceremonies, sometimes can feel more relaxed. Cons - I would REALLY like to just have fish and chips for our food (a posh version though, not someone doing 10 trips to the local chippy) however most of these barns etc have got their restricted catering list. Also another con is that the price of alcohol etc would probably be really expensive, especially if you had to hire a bar initially, and as our families are quite big drinkers this could have quite a large effect on how the day goes.

Two locations - Pros: We already know where we would hold our reception if it was two seperate places which we both really like. The Con to this, is actually trying to find somewhere to have the actual ceremony, again which isn't a hotel/ church or registry office.