Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

H
Curious July 2023 East Central London

Second thoughts changing my surname?

Honey, 26 of January of 2023 at 20:47 Posted on Planning 0 10
Getting married in July. I always said I’d take my husbands surname, which is Stephens. I’m now feeling sad about the thought of leaving my surname Richards. I’m not good with change and it’s worrying me!

I’d love to double barrel my name so that I still keep my surname, but does Richards-Stephens sound really bad? It’s not the best flow… which is concerning me, and my partner wants to firmly stay a Stephens.
I may be fine on the day about changing and this could just be a wobble, but it’s been on my mind recently! My husband to be really wants me to take his name and would love it if I did, but won’t force me. Any advice?

10 replies

Latest activity by Sarah, 29 of January of 2023 at 10:43
  • Ajx
    Dedicated April 2024 West Yorkshire
    Ajx ·
    • Hide content

I don't want to completely get rid of my surname either but I also can't double barrel it as my first name is double barrelled so it would look ridiculous. I have no particular connection to my surname apart from the fact that it goes really well with my double barrelled first name Smiley laugh I'm going to keep my surname as my middle name so it will still be there, and that makes me feel a bit happier things!

I think all names that aren't the one you're used to sound strange at first but if you do decide to double barrel it then Richards-Stephens will eventually feel so completely normal to you xx

• H
    Honey ·
    • Hide content
    View quoted message
    Thank you so much for your thoughts! Does Richards-Stephens sound completely naf though?! They are both old man sort of vibes! I think you keeping your surname as a middle is a great idea, best of both xx
  • Ajx
    Dedicated April 2024 West Yorkshire
    Ajx ·
    • Hide content
    View quoted message