Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

hazel
VIP July 2007

Sending food to Australia

hazel, 1 of December of 2008 at 20:43 Posted on Off Topic Posts 0 14

Anyone know about customs restrictions getting into Australia? I suspect that my BILs ideal Christmas gift would be a parcel of Soreen maltloaf. I seem to remember taking some with us last time we were there but I can't remember if I declared it or not. Will it get through customs if I post it? The Australian Customs website is spectacularly unhelpful on this matter. I want a list with "Soreen - OK" on it ?

14 replies

Latest activity by Pommie, 3 of December of 2008 at 01:22
  • clair_de_lune
    Beginner
    clair_de_lune ·
    • Hide content

I'm no expert on posting manufactured baked goods to the Antipodes but I say if it's only a (v. well wrapped) pack of Soreen you have little to lose. I have a friend who posted a kebab to an expat mate in the States. On the customs label he wrote 'slippers'. Sadly the kebab never made it.

• Imelda
    Beginner July 2008
    Imelda ·
    • Hide content

I think some states are stricter than others - especially concerning the importation of fruit (even though it's dried and cooked).

If you declare it as "store bought cake" then it may get through. Every thing that is posted to Australia is scanned, so they may pick it up on xray and reject it, or they may let it through as it's a commercially produced item rather than something homemade.

• P
    Popcorn1 ·
    • Hide content

Does this database from the AQIS help at all?

http://www.aqis.gov.au/icon32/asp/ex_querycontent.asp

• P
    Beginner
    peanut ·
    • Hide content

I have a feeling you can't. They are so strict on what is allowed into the country. My mum usually has to clear out her bag of munchies as the plane touches down as most of it usually is on the list of "not allowed" foods.

• hazel
    VIP July 2007
    hazel ·
    • Hide content