Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

missmandymoo
Dedicated August 2014

Should I haggle with this venue and how?

missmandymoo, 16 June, 2012 at 13:58 Posted on Planning 0 12

Hi! Newbie here!

I'm getting married in Summer 2014 and I have found the most amazing country venue to hold the entire wedding. The price for hiring the venue exclusively for the day is £3500 for a Thursday, £5500 for a Friday and £6000 for Sat/Sun. These are 2012 prices but will be fixed if I book this year even though it's for 2014. I can supply my own drinks during the drinks reception and wedding breakfast with no corkage charge, after that, the bar opens selling 'pub price' alcohol. This is what they offer to all customers.

The no corkage charge and price fix already sounds like a good deal, so would it be cheeky to negotiate with them? I'm planning to have a Thursday wedding in either July or August. They do insist that I use their approved caterers who aren't cheap (a 3 course formal sit down wedding breakfast would start at £38 per head). Apart from negotiating on cost, I'm not sure what extras I can ask the venue for... they don't have accomodation, the caterers deal with the bar as well so it's not like I can ask the venue to throw in some bubbly either.

They are however, offering a £500 discount for late bookings at the moment. So maybe I can ask for an early booking discount? Seems a bit cheeky considering they're fixing the cost to 2012 price. I can pay the venue by cash. They're asking for 50% deposit but I can also pay in full by cash straight away (not sure whether that is a good idea though?).

Am I in a position to negotiate? If so how and what should I ask for? I've already asked whether I can use an external catering company rather than their. They've politely said that I can't and came up with some cost effective catering ideas which I am OK with.