Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

VikingPrincess
Beginner December 2011

Speeches - when the father of the bride is absent...

VikingPrincess, 2 April, 2010 at 15:12 Posted on Planning 0 5

Hi - those of you who have read and answered some of my other posts here are either sick of me asking so many (silly) questions or wonder how come I don't know certain things any woman would know about weddings.

Well - I was actually born and raised in Romania, and only came to the UK in 1995, with my English then-fiance whom I met when I was a Romanian journalist studying at the BBC Radio Journalism School. Our wedding, a Church of England one, took place in Sep 1995 but was entirely organized by my ex-mother-in law. I even received an invitation to my own wedding... All I did was bring my outfit. Also, my parents are divorced and at the time I wasn't speaking to my Dad because he didn't want me to leave the country. So he was not present at the wedding. My Mum received a special dispensation from the Vicar to give me away at the church. Anyway, after 11 years of marriage, in 2006 unfortunately we divorced. Letting bygones be bygones, all I'll say is that this is why I know next to nothing about organizing a wedding in England, in the sense of custom, etiquette etc.

Luckily, I met David a year later and we've been together for 2 and a half years now. My question above refers to speeches. Everybody these days has complicated families and we are no exception:

1. Even if my Dad does attend this time, he does not speak English at all! What do I do?
  2. Could my Mum make the speech meant for the father of the bride instead? She speaks passable English and I could help her with the text.
  3. My h2b and his family do not speak to his mother, who is divorced from his Dad. She will not be invited to the wedding. Can the role be assumed by his father's second wife?

What do you all think?

Thanks,

5 replies