Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

Mal
Expert January 2018

Stainless steel / nickel - allergic reaction?

Mal, 17 of February of 2009 at 20:28 Posted on Off Topic Posts 0 11

Does anyone have any experience of this?

I've been wearing my watch for 3 years and in the last month I seem to have become allergic to it. My wrist was in a right mess, where the back of the case meets the skin. So, I chose not to wear it for at least a week, my skin took a while to clear up but eventually got back to normal. And then I wore it for a few hours yesterday and my skin is a mess again.

I went to the jewellers today and they said they can rhodium plate the back of it, would this work? Would it be advisable to get some form of allergy testing done first?

And in case anyone suggests, I don't want to just stop wearing it and replace it....it was a 30th birthday present, I love it, and it cost a lot so it would be a waste to just stick it in the back of a drawer.

?

11 replies

Latest activity by Hollie, 5 of April of 2021 at 12:55
  • Braw Wee Chanter
    Braw Wee Chanter ·
    • Hide content

I'm allergic to nickel. I used to get this with watches all the time. A cheap, quick fix is clear nail polish and I think there's even a clear brush on specifically for this.

The only advantage to being allergic is if my ex someone tells you they spent a fortune on a 'gold' ring and your finger breaks out in agony...?

x

• Mal
    Expert January 2018
    Mal ·
    • Hide content

A couple of people mentioned the nail polish, but wouldn't it have to be redone quite often? and if it flakes off, would you end up in a mess again?

• L
    Dedicated November 2002
    Lizbeth ·
    • Hide content