Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

M
Beginner August 2005

starting body pump - unable to get to a intro to body pump

mrsmagoo, 14 of April of 2009 at 21:06 Posted on Beauty & Wellbeing 0 15

Hello

I have fallen in love with body attack, i actually look forward to going, i can normally make between 1 and 2 classes a week

I like the sound of body pump and would like to add this in too, but i cant get to the intro session as its on days that i have no childcare.

Would this be a problem?

Im not very strong either, am i likely to get laughed at lifting piddly weights?

thanks

Lx

15 replies

Latest activity by Iris, 21 of April of 2009 at 15:56
  • Dr Svensk Tiger
    Beginner
    Dr Svensk Tiger ·
    • Hide content

My gym didn't do intro sessions so I can't imagine it's essential. I've been lifting weights for a few years so it wasn't a problem for me but it you tell the instructor that you're new, before the class starts, and that you haven't done weight lifting before they'll advise you on what weights to use and you should be fine. Just remember to take it easy and don't do anything if you're not sure about it. Have fun, it's a great class Smiley smile

• sweetersong
    Beginner January 2006
    sweetersong ·
    • Hide content

My gym doesn't do an intro session, but the leader always asks if there is anyone new so she can help and keep an eye on your technique, if they don't ask, just mention that you are new

I love body pump, it works your muscles good. After my first session I walked funny for 2 days from the squats

• Consuela Banana Hammock
    Consuela Banana Hammock ·
    • Hide content

You don't need an introduction - our gym doesn't offer them either.

A few pointers .... select a good basic weight for each end of your bar - 2.5kg should do it and STICK WITH THAT for the entire class. Don't worry that people around you are changing their weights with each track.