Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

B
Beginner May 2010

Stepchildren as bridesmaids/page boys

bic2be, 8 of April of 2009 at 19:00 Posted on Planning 0 10

Hi there

I'm new to hitched but thought I would start by posting a question to all you brides to be out there.

My husband to be has 2 children which he hardly sees (as the mothers moved abroad). We are due to be getting married next year and he has asked whether I would consider having his daughter as a bridesmaid and his son as a page boy. Who would say yes and who would say no?

I'm fairly firmly in the no camp at the moment as I have no strong bond/relationship with either of the children and feel that our wedding day is about us as a couple. I would be quite comfortable them attending but not being part of the wedding party Does anyone have different views?

Really interested to hear conflicting/supporting opinions as well as any personal experience.

xx

10 replies

Latest activity by Amanda, 30 of March of 2024 at 20:51
  • bluewater
    Beginner August 2009
    bluewater ·
    • Hide content

How old are the daughter and son? do they WANT to be BM and PB? ok your marriage is about you as a couple, but is your wedding not also about you becoming a family - this might be a precursor to developing a relationship with them. they might see it as a snub in the future...? it is your h2b's day too, and if it's important to him then i certainly think you need to consider it.

• moomin8804
    Beginner July 2009
    moomin8804 ·
    • Hide content

Hi, welcome to hitched!

My H2B has three children from a previous marriage, all of whom will have a part in the wedding! The two boys aged 13 and 11 will be page boys, and the girl aged 16 will be one of my bridesmaids! I wouldn't even dream of not having them taking part in our wedding as they come to stay with us often, and we we have a close bond with them!