Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

cookiekat
Beginner August 2012

Subsidence

cookiekat, 5 November, 2012 at 11:46 Posted on Off Topic Posts 0 12

Anyone know anything about it?

Whilst decorating the spare room Ive discovered some massive cracks along the roof, and either side of the bay window.

12 replies

Latest activity by porkchop, 5 November, 2012 at 19:26
  • cookiekat
    Beginner August 2012
    cookiekat ·
    • Hide content

Part of the original building - I know you live around here somewhere - it's one of the masses of 1930's semi's in Caversham.

• porkchop
    Beginner September 2012
    porkchop ·
    • Hide content

I'm a building surveyor. It could be many things, I need a bit more info, some photos? You could PM me and I'll give you my email address.

Are there any drains near by? Have you removed any large trees? Are there large trees near? How wide are the cracks? Are they bigger/smaller at top or bottom or consistant all the way down? Are they visible outside and inside?

• cookiekat
    Beginner August 2012
    cookiekat ·
    • Hide content

side wall about 6mm at the top runs about 1.5m in length

under the bay about 2mm runs down about 1m

roof above bay crack varies from 6m to 3mil runs about 2m across

• cookiekat
    Beginner August 2012
    cookiekat ·
    • Hide content

I think I can see a crack outside but not sure house is pebble dashed so cant really tell and I dont have a big ladder

no drains or trees, there is the neighbours down pipe for guttering goininto the soil next to the house

• porkchop
    Beginner September 2012
    porkchop ·
    • Hide content

Sorry, popped out for lunch.