Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

V
Beginner August 2014

Vintage tea party - Hertfordshire - Advice please (new member)

Valentine14, 21 October, 2012 at 19:10 Posted on Planning 0 6

Hiya,

After being engaged to my partner of 8 years for 18 months already... We have FINALLY set a date for our wedding - 2nd August 2014. As I am a busy mother of 2 young boys as well as being a full time NHS student, I have an embarrassing tiny budget and was looking at ways in which I could keep the costs down...

I finally convinced my Fiance to agree to a bit of a DIY wedding and then it struck me that afternoon tea would be ideal and match the dress style and colour scheme i already have my heart set on.

So the advice i need...

1) I was thinking of getting married around 3pm and feeding my guests just the once - I am unsure as to whether this will work?

2) I am looking for a venue that will accommodate this theme on a mega budget... Does anybody have any ideas

(edited to add - ) 3) does anybody have experience in hiring cash bars or bringing their own alcohol to a venue?

Thanks Smiley smile xx

6 replies

Latest activity by *Pugsley*, 22 October, 2012 at 16:35
  • D
    Beginner July 2014
    Duke_1987 ·
    • Hide content

Hello Smiley smile

One of my friends is gettin married late in the day so that they only have to feed people once, i think its a fab idea.

Also, i was at a weddin fayre last week end speaking to a venue decorator and she said her favourite weddings parties/receptions are the ones in village halls. She said because they are normally so plain you can do anything to it and really put your stamp on it and i think DIY decorations look fab, especially with the afternoon tea theme..

Natalie Smiley smile

• Peter
    Peter ·
    • Hide content

Try Three Lakes near to Ware...very accommodating and not over pricey. Maxine, the manager, looks after the couples very well....