Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

Anna
Beginner May 2024 Co Antrim

Wedding blessing ettiequte?

Anna, 6 of March of 2021 at 16:03 Posted on Planning 0 8

Hi! Newbie here. Smiley smile

My fiancé and I have decided to elope! Long story short, both of our families aren't very nice, and so we didn't feel like paying out thousands for them to inevitably ruin what is meant to be our day. Although, there are people like friends and my grandparents that we would love to have celebrated with us. We don't want 2 weddings though, so there will be no "wedding" abroad, just us saying vows etc (but I still want a dress, lol!). My nanna suggested having our marriage blessed when we return from getting married, which we love the sound of! It is important to us to have our marriage blessed by God anyway, so we felt an intimate wedding blessing ceremony would solve this, and allow close family/friends to be involved. We would then like to have a reception to celebrate with friends and wider family.

I have a lot of questions about the "rules" of a wedding blessing. Do I rewear my wedding dress? (This would be great because I'd feel like I got my money's worth, lol). I assume there's no bridal party (I wouldn't particularly want one either). Do you hire a photographer? Videographer? Are there certain traditions that we should still do at the reception and things we can leave out? Thanks for reading this and I hope you all are keeping safe!! xx

8 replies

Latest activity by Ben, 7 of May of 2021 at 16:01
  • Leonie
    Savvy June 2022 Kent
    Leonie ·
    • Hide content