Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

D
Beginner

Wedding budget help!

DanaN, 25 of June of 2017 at 08:15 Posted on Planning 0 5

Hello, I'm a newbie! We just got engaged last week, and we're already looking to plan our wedding for 2018. Smiley smile

The trouble is, I have absolutely no idea how to manage our budget. We have a very strict budget of £10k, as that's literally all of the money we have. We've found a venue online which we've absolutely fallen in love with, but it's £4,650. Will that leave us with enough money for catering, photography, outfits, entertainment, etc? We will have approximately 35 guests during the day, and a total of 60 for the reception. I'm going to DIY as much as I can, but from what I've seen everything else is so expensive. Smiley sad

According to the Hitched wedding budget, we should only be spending £1500 on a venue, which is going to be impossible for what we want!

Thanks in advance for any feedback. Smiley smile x

5 replies

Latest activity by GeorgieBea89, 30 of June of 2017 at 05:04
  • S
    Beginner November 2018
    SunnyGoldHair679 ·
    • Hide content

Congratulations on your engagement! Smiley smile

It all depends on what you want to prioritise really and if the venue is what you value most and are willing to sacrifice some other stuff then that is completely up to you. I wouldn't say there is a right or wrong price - it's just whatever you are willing to pay! Once you go view it its worth asking for flexibility in price too - especially if you are willing to get married during the week or off-peak!

Caterers is likely to be a big cost too so it'd be worth checking out those prices as that might eliminate another chunk of your budget before you get your heart set on the venue. Smiley smile

• DreamsComeTrue2015
    Beginner July 2017
    DreamsComeTrue2015 ·
    • Hide content