Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

Cache13
Beginner August 2015

Wedding Cake

Cache13, 21 of March of 2014 at 19:07 Posted on Planning 0 11

Are you going traditional? Cupcakes, Naked Cake? Would you consider making your cake yourself? I'm a keen hobby baker and am tempted to do this... Have any of you known anyone do this? The OH thinks it's a bad idea as I'd be putting pressure on myself close to the wedding. The cake artist we were planning on using has closed business due to family health so it's suggesting to me- why not? £200+ is a lot for a Marks and Spencers Cake. I was thinking of doing a good but not too difficult cake for us and then ask close friends and family to make their favourite dessert and bring that too.

Thoughts please X

11 replies

Latest activity by InkedDoll, 22 of March of 2014 at 11:34
  • S
    Beginner October 2014
    Sheldon ·
    • Hide content

I would love to make my own cake, I have only really made the odd sponge or chocolate cake when I was bored of a weekend. if you can do it, then why not. Saves yourself the cost plus it will be an excellent sense of achievement once you have finished. I don't know a lot about cakes but if you make one that will last, you can make it a good few days before the wedding to help relieve the stress, and who knows you baking might help your feel calm and relaxed ? x

Beginner December 2014
    3ColoursBlue ·
    • Hide content

We are having an array of cupcakes, naked cakes with shells and fresh flowers and a cheese stack decorated with grapes and crackers.

My bridesmaids are very kindly doing all the baking because they are wonderful. I love to bake but have to accept I cant do everything and sometimes help is best.

• Cache13
    Beginner August 2015
    Cache13 ·
    • Hide content