Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

Hayley
Rockstar September 2022 Norfolk

Wedding ring metal

Hayley, 30 of December of 2021 at 18:52 Posted on Etiquette and Advice 0 11
Hello all. Just wondering if anyone is going for a different metal for their wedding ring to their engagement ring? My engagement ring is an unusual shape and I have decided I will likely only wear it on special occasions once I am married, and likely on my right hand. It's white gold. I don't really want a white gold wedding ring as I don't think I would want to get it coated regularly. I'm considering platinum or a different colour gold.

11 replies

Latest activity by Sarah, 31 of July of 2023 at 22:48
  • Stephanie
    Beginner June 2024 Lothian & Borders
    Stephanie ·
    • Hide content
    I think I’ll be going for platinum wedding band, my engagement ring is also white gold!
    Purely because I’m a nurse and don’t want to keep having it coated which would be likely with the constant use of alcohol gel and washing my hands x
  • Hayley
    Hayley ·
    • Hide content
    View quoted message
    Thank you. I am thinking the same. I work in social care. Although I'm not as hands on as I was as I'm management, it is still likely that I will need to do a lot of hand washing and hand gel use.
  • Jane
    Dedicated June 2022 Bristol
    Jane ·
    • Hide content
    From what I’ve heard, you shouldn’t mix metals for rings you’ll wear together (eg one might damage the other) but if you aren’t planning on ever wearing your engagement ring with your wedding band, then I think you can have whatever you want. In terms of how it looks, why not go try some on just to get a feel?
  • Hayley
    Hayley ·
    • Hide content
    View quoted message