Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

C
Beginner April 2019

Weekday Wedding

CoastalBride2019, 26 of February of 2018 at 15:59 Posted on Planning 0 9

Hi! I'm new to Hitched, and I've seen that there are posts on this subject, but this is a little more specific. For a venue that my partner and I love, it is substantially much cheaper to get married on a week day than a weekend. However, his mum, his brother, his sister, and his brother-in-law are either teachers or work in a school. Because they're immediate family, we'd hope that this would be ok, but we're still feeling anxious, as truly we have no idea other than fragments of online research.

No one else in our guest list is a teacher - just family. We feel concerned already that a weekday wedding will be difficult for some (some people we know are freelancers/work irregular days/in the arts so they're generally fine), and we don't want to cause hassle for anyone, but the price difference is so extreme. What do you think?

9 replies

Latest activity by carleyemma, 4 of March of 2018 at 21:11
  • H
    Beginner May 2019
    HappyGoldCakes14475 ·
    • Hide content

Hi!

People are mostly receptive to things if you just ask them to be honest. Have a chat with them hypothetically about how likely it is they're able to get the day off, if they need a certain amount of notice or anything. then hopefully they're more likely to have an open conversation with their boss about it in return.

we are looking at a weekday wedding for the same reasons and everyone understands why and said they would probably do the same!

And with enough notice, most people are happy to take the day off work, might even plan their own mid-week break around it if its nice enough! (that's what I'd do!).