Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

H
Beginner May 2017

What title are you going to use if you're not changing your surname?

HappyGoldCars770, 26 of March of 2017 at 18:12 Posted on Planning 0 8

My partner and I are getting married in May and for a variety of reasons, I'm not intending to change my surname. I'm just wondering what other people who've chosen not to change their name have done/are going to do about their title - it'd feel odd to use Miss after I'm married, but it'd also seem odd to me if I started using Mrs but kept my original surname as I think it'd look like I was married to someone other than my actual husband! The obvious solution is to use Ms, which I tend to put on most written stuff anyway, but I'm a teacher so am known by my title + surname all day at work and I know from experience that kids are completely unable to pronounce or remember to use Ms! The only people I know who haven't changed their surname after getting married are all either doctors or have a PhD, so what title to use hasn't been an issue for them!

Can anyone tell me what they've done/are planning to do about this?

8 replies

Latest activity by Grab, 24 of January of 2022 at 22:10
  • V
    Beginner September 2017
    VegasBride2017 ·
    • Hide content

I can't decide what to do either - so thanks for asking and I look forward to the responses

• H
    Beginner May 2017
    HappyGoldCars770 ·
    • Hide content

I think if I wasn't known by my title and surname at work then I'd definitely just use Ms on anything that required a title, but it just seems to lead to a whole discussion and explanation if I introduce myself as Ms in person. The whole point of Ms is that it doesn't specify your marital status (because why is that relevant to anyone?) so it sort of defeats the object if every time I introduce myself to someone new, i have to get into some big explanation of why I don't use Miss or Mrs!

• S