Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

B

Your thought please - getting married on Easter Saturday?

28 September, 2011 at 19:09 Posted on Planning 0 13

I am a teacher and really want to get married in the Easter holidays. However, I think the first Saturday I will be exchausted, and the last will be a bit of an anti-climax to have to go back to school on the Monday after a Saturday wedding. My partner thinks it's really unfair to our friends to get married on Easter Saturday because he thinks lots of them will want to be away then too.

What do you think? It is purely for selfish reasons - I'd like to have a week to prepare, plus time to help decorate the venue and then ideally a few days away with my new hubby, before going back to full on 15 hour days at work.

Your opinions please!

13 replies

Latest activity by HappyAnnie, 29 September, 2011 at 20:37
  • Gurzle
    Beginner April 2013
    Gurzle ·
    • Hide content

I think if you let people know in advance they won't even consider going away and so won't feel disappointed not to be able to.

One thing I would say, is if you want a Church service you might struggle as Easter weekend is usually reserved only for mass etc. Any VERY keen church goers might raise an eyebrow, too - I only say this because my friend's mum somehow got it into her head that we were getting married over Easter weekend (we're not, I was raised a Catholic and so it wouldn't be right for me) and she was a bit unimpressed by it as she is a staunch Catholic herself.

Other than that, whatever suits you!

• jen_84
    Beginner August 2012
    jen_84 ·
    • Hide content