Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

AnnaBanana
Beginner July 2007

Different chopping boards for meat & veg?

AnnaBanana, 29 of July of 2009 at 10:32 Posted on Off Topic Posts 0 16

One for the scientists - is it really necessary to use different chopping boards to avoid cross contamination? I do, mainly because when I was a student I was working in a restaurant and it was part of the health and safety training to use separate ones, and coincidentally I ended up buying a pack of pastic chopping boards from Ikea. Ever since i've kept doing it. However on TV, chefs seem to use big wooden chopping boards and just give them a wipe between uses of meat/veg. i'd love to use a wooden one and no more. My gran has had the same wooden butchers block type thing for 30 years and she seems fine!

whats the truth with this one?

TIA!

16 replies

Latest activity by Jayne E, 5 of August of 2016 at 21:06
  • Spamboule
    Beginner October 2008
    Spamboule ·
    • Hide content

I'm no scientist but my H is.

We have a big wooden chopping board that stays on the work surface in the kitchen. If I am cutting meat (which actually doens't happen that often) then I use a plastic chopping board to avoid cross contamination. The plastic board goes in the dishwasher, the wooden one gets a wipe down after each use, and occasionally I oil it as well

• lyni
    Beginner October 2008
    lyni ·
    • Hide content

I have no idea what the "truth" is, but I use both. Big wooden one gets wiped over and used again, or with plastic ones (our's are also from Ikea!) I just turn them over. However I normally cut all my veg/fruit up first and then do the meat, so I don't think it really matters.

• anjumanji
    anjumanji ·
    • Hide content