Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

NewYearRose
Beginner December 2012

I overhead two women at work bitching about me earlier...

NewYearRose, 2 of March of 2012 at 13:34 Posted on Off Topic Posts 0 66

... and I'm really quite hurt by it.

One of the women is an administrator ("Jane"), the other is a junior buyer ("Anne"), and they both started at the same time so are quite pally.

Anne is 32, so seven years older than me, but she has only been working in buying for 18 months. I started at 21, after I graduated, so this is my fourth year.

In February, I was promoted to assistant buyer, as a colleague left and it's this they were first bitching about. Basically, they seem to think that as Jane is older than me, she should have been promoted, despite having less experience than me.

However, they proceeded to get really personal, and mocked the way I talk ("plum in mouth syndrome"), the way I look ("she's rather horsey isn't she?") and on Jack they said, "he must only be marrying her because her family has a bit of money."

At the time, another colleague (my line manager) had left the office for something, so it was only them and me in the office. They clearly forgot I was there, as I'm not normally in on Fridays, but due to staff holiday they asked me to go in this morning to help get an important job done. As I was sat at my desk, they couldn't see me, because the office is L-shaped and I'm sat round the corner in the smaller area of the room.

When my manager came back, she thanked me for coming in and helping her this morning, and said I could go now. When Jane and Anne realised I was there, I heard Anne mutter, "oh crap."

Anyway, my reason for posting, is I just wonder if anyone has experienced anything similar? Or if anyone has any advice on how to handle this?